Livers With Life

The Stages of Liver Disease Progression - Overview

Cirrhosis is a condition in which the liver does not function properly due to long-term damage. This damage is characterized by the replacement of normal liver tissue by scar tissue. Typically, the disease develops slowly over months or years. Early on, there are often no symptoms.

Fatty Liver

Fatty liver disease (FLD), also known as hepatic steatosis, is a condition where excess fat builds up in the liver.

There are two types: non-alcoholic fatty liver disease (NAFLD) and alcoholic liver disease.



Fibrosis occurs prior to cirrhosis and is completely reversible if the cause of the liver damage is removed. Fibrosis occurs prior to cirrhosis and is normally symptomless.

Fibrosis also has stages ranging from F0 to F4.



Compensated Cirrhosis

In the compensated stage, the liver is damaged but able to support life. Normally, there are no symptoms.

Compensated cirrhosis is reversible (if the root cause is removed) and may possibly not ever be diagnosed.



Decompensated Cirrhosis

Decompensated cirrhosis or End stage Liver Disease occurs when the liver is no longer capable of functioning normally.

This results in Ascites, Varices and Hepatic Encephalopathy.



Many Other